Education committee

What is it?

The Commission on Education (CommEd) is the competent body of the Association on all academic matters. It must be consulted on all major policies, positions and projects affecting graduate teaching and/or research: it must be consulted on any appointment of the Association’s representatives on committees and commissions related to education. However, some exceptions may exist, please consult the full policy for more information (here).

Composition

The Education Commission is composed of active members called “advisors”, all of whom have voting rights. It is composed as follows: a) the President of the Association; b) the Vice-President of Education, who is the President of the Commission; c) one delegate per Higher Education Committee as defined in Article 75; d) one delegate per student category as defined in Article 76. The secretary of the meeting shall be appointed by resolution of the Education Council, on an ad hoc basis or for a fixed term of office.

Three categories of students are recognized:

(a) Students in the 2nd cycle of research, including those enrolled in the Master of Research degrees or any degree leading to the Master of Applied Science (M.Sc.A.) degree;  

(b) Students in the 3rd cycle of research, including those enrolled in doctoral degrees or any degree leading to the degree of Philosophiae Doctor (Ph. D.);

(c) Students enrolled in graduate studies at the École Polytechnique who do not belong to the categories defined in paragraphs (a) and (b).

The President and Vice-President of Education shall sit on the Education Council for the duration of their term on the Executive Committee and Coordinating Committee, respectively; Delegates shall serve from May 1 to the following April 30.

Advisors

El Mustapha Jaouhar
Read more.
Riad Hadou
magi@aecsp.qc.ca
Read more.
Charles K.A. Samaty
electrique@aecsp.qc.ca
Read more.
Ulrich-Landry Compaore
chimique@aecsp.qc.ca
Read more.
Jérôme Laviolette
cgm@aecsp.qc.ca
Read more.
Joffrey Clément
President president@aecsp.qc.ca The president is AÉCSP's chief executive officer. He oversees the implementation of the Board's decisions. He is the
Read more.
Amina Hentati
Education vice president education@aecsp.qc.ca In collaboration with departmental delegates, the education vice president addresses issues related to education in the
Read more.

Conseil à l’Éducation

C’est quoi?

Le Conseil à l’Éducation (Consed) est l’instance de l’Association compétente sur toute question académique. Il est obligatoirement consulté sur toutes les politiques, positions et projets majeurs touchant à l’enseignement aux cycles supérieurs et/ou à la recherche: il est obligatoirement consulté pour toute nomination des représentants de l’Association sur les comités et commissions liés à l’éducation. Certaines exceptions peuvent toutefois exister, veuillez consulter le règlement complet pour en prendre connaissances (ici).

Composition

Le Conseil à l’Éducation est composé de membres actifs appelés « conseillers» ayant tous un droit de vote. Il est composé comme suit: a) le président de l’Association; b) le vice-président à l’éducation, qui en est le président; c) un délégué par comité d’études supérieures tels que définis à l’Article 75; d) un délégué par catégorie d’étudiant tel que définies à Article 76. Le secrétaire d’assemblée est nommé par résolution du conseil à l’éducation, de manière ponctuelle ou pour une durée de mandat déterminée.

Trois catégories d’étudiant sont reconnues:

a) Les étudiants du 2ième cycle recherche, incluant ceux inscrits au diplômes de maîtrise recherche ou tout diplôme menant à l’obtention du grade de Maîtrise ès sciences appliquées (M.Sc.A.);  

b) Les étudiants du 3ième cycle recherche, incluant ceux inscrits aux diplômes de doctorat ou tout diplôme menant à l’obtention du grade de Philosophiae Doctor (Ph.D.);

c) Les étudiants inscrits aux cycles supérieurs de Polytechnique n’appartenant pas aux catégories définies aux alinéas a) et b).

Le président et le vice-président à l’éducation siègent sur le conseil à l’éducation pour toute la durée de leur mandat sur le comité exécutif et le comité de coordination, respectivement; Les délégués sont en fonction du 1er mai au 30 avril suivant.

Responsabilités et tâches d’un délégué

Les responsabilités d’un délégué sont les suivantes : 

  • Représenter les étudiants au sein du comité de son département.
  • Etre responsable de la coordination des activités académiques de son département ou de sa catégorie d’étudiants.

Les tâches d’un délégué sont les suivantes :

  • Siéger au conseil à l’éducation (CONSED) et soumettre au conseil les problèmes de ton département.
  • Siéger au comité départemental ou de programme et participer aux décisions.
  • Siéger sur tout comité lié à l’éducation qui l’intéresse.

Conseillers/conseillères en poste